• Welcome to Malta Fishing Forum.

Outboards brands suggestions

Started by cla144, December 11, 2008, 08:11:01 CET

Previous topic - Next topic

cla144

Hi people,

I am in the process of buying a kaptan trend 15ft with cabin and was going to install 2 yamaha 40 hp 4 stroke, any suggestions about other brands please or if its better to install one outboard of higher hp and an auxiliary?

I am new to boating and I know that here I am going to get the best advice ever  :)

Thanks for your help.

fishfinder

Hi, I have a Kaptan Trend open and I suggest that you go for bigger motors cause 2x 40hp is not enough. In the past I've started with 1 x 50HP 4 stroke and I had to sell it cause it was not plaining the boat. I would go for 1 x 90 Suzuki( the new models from Zarb stores) and an aux 9.9/15hp.

once there was a boat with 2 x 50yamaha and it's maximum power was 28/30 knots. Keep in mind that if you use the motors a high revs they consume a lot of petrol too.

Kaptan Leisure with Suzuki DF115 4 stroke

skip

Suzuki have been doing very well and lot's on people on the forum use and recommend them. Yamaha have a large market share in the US and have done an excellent marketing effort of keeping their name at the front of people's minds. They are of course good engines as well, but you'd have to compare the prices with Suzuki.

The whole debate of twin engines can be broken down as follows:

1) If one engine with it's regular prop is not enough to power your boat up on to the plane, then all you have is a very large expensive auxilliary engine.

2) On that basis you would be better off putting a larger single engine and have a 9.9hp 4 stroke auxilliary engine, or kicker as the americans call them. Put a removable tie bar between the main and aux engine and you can steer as well. The only thing you won't have is throttle control from the console.